fbpx

Bootcamp 2019!

September 2, 2019

You were waiting for it, you want to be part of a Roller Derby league? Here’s your chance! The infamous Montreal Roller Derby Bootcamp is waiting for you; everyone is welcome!

Beginning September 24th, the Montreal Roller Derby bootcamp will begin, in partnership with Montréal Roller Derby Masculin!

No need to have roller derby or skating experience, you’ll be taught how to stand on your skates, to fall without hurting yourself, to get up quickly and without using your hands, skate forwards AND backwards, and lots of other very cool stuff that is essential for every derby player and every referee!

Schedule : From September 24th to December 10th, 2019
Tuesdays 7PM to 9PM and Sundays 6:30 PM to 9 PM

Note: changes/cancellations are possible and won’t affect your payments (no refund).

Where: Taz skatepark: 8931 Papineau Avenue, Montreal, QC H2M 0A5

Condition: to be at least 18 years old
If you are under 18, contact Montréal Roller Derby Junior!

How: There is 3 levels to the bootcamp, and a written test (rules). You will be tested for each level and get 1 retest for each. If you don’t succeed you can’t move to the next level. Here’s what will be covered: https://static.wftda.com/resources/wftda-minimum-skills-requirements.pdf

Cost: $50 to register for level 1, and 55$ for each of the two other levels. Those two last payments will be done after having passed the level before.
* No refund if you leave or fail a level (idem if you are injured).
* No arrangements possible if you must miss a practice or an exam (no exceptions).
* For late registration, contact infobootcamp@mtlrd.com

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER! > http://bit.ly/BootcampMTLRD

–>Roller Derby is a regulated contact sport, so there are also rules to learn! To consult them, go on the WFTDA website. We also recommend seeing a game to get an idea of ??the sport and better understand the rules, and live is even better! The last local game will be September 21st, so you still have time to come and see! Facebook event: https://www.facebook.com/events/365716267428221/

–>Completing the Bootcamp is happening once a year, it’s the only way to join the Montreal Roller Derby league (http://mtlrollerderby.com/), don’t miss your chance!

–>Need equipment? Go to Lowlifemtl! You can even order online, but we strongly suggest you go try different skates. People at lowlife will be able to answer all your questions and help you choose what’s best for you.

–>If you want to get a head start and learn to skate, join the Whiskey Derby Montreal!
https://www.facebook.com/groups/146260358748006/ 

It is highly recommended that you try skating before attending the camp as the pace is quick.

This bootcamp is also a great opportunity to learn the basics of skating and derby with the goal of becoming a referee for the league! Plus, it is not necessary for you to join the league after completing the bootcamp, but it is obligatory to pass each level to be allowed to continue the bootcamp.

Once a league member: a minimum attendance of 60% to practices (Tuesdays and Sundays) is mandatory. Dues are 50$/month and volunteering is mandatory.

* MTLRD’s bootcamp is opened to anyone, regardless of gender. MTLRD recognizes that identifying as transgender, intersex, and/or gender expansive is not in any way related to an individual’s eligibility for participating as a volunteer, skater or employee. Montreal Roller Derby League will actively work to promote a climate that is welcoming and inclusive of transgender, intersex, and gender expansive participants. Any conduct which fosters a hostile environment for any participant on the basis of gender identity will not be tolerated. In addition, the WFTDA and Montreal Roller Derby League Inc. will continue to increase its knowledge of trans, intersex, and gender expansive issues through ongoing education for volunteers and staff. The gender identity of any and all WFTDA participants is considered confidential and private.

fbpx

Bootcamp 2019!

septembre 2, 2019

Tu l’attendais, tu veux faire partie d’une ligue de Roller Derby? Voilà ta chance! Le fameux camp d’entraînement de Montréal Roller Derby t’attends; tout le monde est bienvenu!

À partir du 24 septembre débutera le camp d’entraînement de Montreal Roller Derby en partenariat avec Montréal Roller Derby Masculin!

Pas besoin d’avoir d’expérience en roller derby ou en patinage, on t’apprend à tenir debout sur tes patins, tomber sans te faire mal, te relever sans les mains, patiner en avant ET en arrière, et plein d’autres trucs super cool dont tout.e joueuse.r de derby et tout.e arbitre a besoin!

Calendrier: Du 24 septembre au 10 décembre 2019
Les mardis de 19h à 21h et les dimanches de 18h30 à 21h

NB : des changements/annulations sont possibles et n’affecteront pas tes paiements (pas de remboursements).

Où: Taz skatepark : 8931 avenue Papineau, Montréal, QC H2M 0A5

Condition : avoir 18 ans et plus
Si tu as moins de 18 ans, contacte Montréal Roller Derby Junior

Il y a 3 niveaux au bootcamp, ainsi qu’un test écrit (règlements). Tu seras testé.e à chaque niveau et chaque test peut être repris 1 fois. Si tu ne réussis pas un niveau, il ne te sera pas possible de poursuivre. Voici ce qui sera enseigné : https://static.wftda.com/resources/wftda-minimum-skills-requirements.pdf

Coût : 50$ pour l’inscription au premier niveau, et 55$ pour chacun des 2 autres niveaux. Le paiement pour ces 2 derniers niveaux sera fait à la condition de passer le niveau précédent.
Date limite pour l’inscription et le premier paiement: 20 septembre
* Non remboursable si tu quittes ou échoues un niveau (idem si tu es blessé.e).
* Aucun arrangement possible si tu dois manquer une pratique ou un examen (quel que soit la raison).
* Pour les inscriptions tardives, écrivez au infobootcamp@mtlrd.com

–>Le Roller Derby étant un sport de contact réglementé, il y a aussi des règles à apprendre ! Pour les consulter, RDV sur le site de la WFTDA. Nous recommandons aussi de voir un match pour se faire un idée du sport et mieux comprendre les règles, et en direct c’est encore mieux ! ? Le dernier match locale de la saison actuelle aura lieu le 21 septembre, donc tu as encore du temps pour venir voir ça! Évènement facebook: https://www.facebook.com/events/365716267428221/

–>Le Bootcamp se déroule une fois par an et est la seule manière de faire partie de la ligue de Montréal Roller Derby (http://mtlrollerderby.com/), ne rate pas ta chance !

POUR S’INSCRIRE C’EST ICI ! > http://bit.ly/BootcampMTLRD

–>Besoin d’équipement ? RDV chez Lowlifemtl! Possibilité de commander en ligne mais on recommande fortement d’aller essayer différents modèles de patins. Les gens de chez Lowlife sont les mieux outillés pour t’aider!

–>Si tu veux prendre un peu d’avance et apprendre à patiner, rejoins le Whiskey Derby de Montréal !
https://www.facebook.com/groups/146260358748006/

Il est fortement recommandé de commencer à essayer de patiner avant le démarrage du bootcamp car le rythme est rapide.

Le bootcamp est également l’opportunité d’apprendre les bases du patin et du derby dans l’objectif de devenir arbitre pour la ligue! De plus, il n’est pas nécessaire d’intégrer la ligue à la fin du bootcamp, mais il est nécessaire de passer chacun des niveaux afin d’être autorisé.e à poursuivre le bootcamp.

Une fois membre de la ligue: un minimum de présence aux pratique de 60% (mardi et dimanche) est obligatoire. Les cotisations sont de 50$ par mois et le bénévolat est obligatoire.

* Le bootcamp de MTLRD est ouvert à tous et à toutes, tous genres confondus. MTLRD reconnait que l’identité de genre n’est en aucun cas relié à la capacité d’une personne à participer comme volontaire, joueur.se ou employé.e. MTLRD travaille à promouvoir un climat accueillant et inclusif pour les personnes trans, intersexes ou non conformes dans le genre. Tout comportement qui promeut un environnement hostile pour tout.e participant.e. sur la base de l’identité de genre ne sera pas toléré. De plus, MTLRD s’engage à continuer à s’éduquer sur les enjeux et réalités liés aux identités de genre à travers une éducation constante de ses membres. L’identité de genre de tout.e participant.e de MTLRD est considéré comme confidentiel et privé.